Some people believe that it is better to live and work in vertical cities. Others, however, think that horizontal cities are better for living and working.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether residing and working in cities with tall buildings or in cities with one-storey houses covering a wider area of land is better still remains a contentious topic. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. From my perspective, being inhabitants in vertical cities would be far more beneficial. This essay will take both sides into consideration and provide the justifications behind my verdict.

On the one hand, I think that residing and pursuing careers in cities with residential areas expanded horizontally would exert overwhelmingly pernicious impacts. One of them is the overuse of land resources. Take cities in the mountainous areas in Northern Vietnam, as an illustration. Here, the natives often devastate reserved forests to erect enormous houses, leading to the lack of land for other indispensable amenities, such as squares and parks. Besides, this type of city construction might take a toll on the environment. As can be witnessed from the previous instance, destroying forests may act as a deterrent to protecting flood-prone areas, thus resulting in adverse effects on people’s lives when confronting natural disasters.

On the other hand, I hold a strong belief that building taller apartments would be far more advantageous. This is derived from the fact that it would make a considerable contribution to their physical health and personal traits as waiting for elevators might accelerate their level of patience, and going on foot might compensate for their strength. Nevertheless, developing living areas vertically might help save land for other essential facilities, such as hospitals and schools and protect the environment. This results from the fact that complex buildings often have modern integrated waste disposal systems; therefore, garbage can be properly treated before being disposed into the environment.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned reasons, I concur that the construction of vertical cities would be better for accommodation and occupation compared to horizontal ones.