Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Several people consider that children should have knowledge about their country’s literature and history instead of other countries, whereas it is believed that children should learn about the literature and history of other countries. In my opinion, I agree with those different statements, as well as, both of them have advantages.

On the one hand, the learning of the original of literature and history provides the children more understandable of how the way people in their country think and express themselves. What is more, by learning about past events, they might understand the struggles that previous generations had to go through so that they can enjoy what they have today. For example, children aged 8 in Indonesia, in learning about the moments of independence, by watching the video documentation or visiting the museum, are more likely to value and respect the Indonesian heroes.

The literature and history of other nations should be taught to the children in increasing their insights and devotions. That is to say since almost all countries have some similarities in their history, this improves the children more understanding the annals of their nations, leading them to increase love the motherland. For instance, during learning about the colonial history in Southeast Asia countries, through storytelling, children aged 7-10 understand how hard the struggle is to get liberation. As the result, the respect of their nations is more likely to happen. In addition, the love for the motherland is exactly more improved.

In conclusion, although teaching children about literature and history has advantages, I personally believe that children should be taught both national and international, for improving their love of the country.