Some people believe that newspaper is the best way to learn about news While others believe that more effective way is through other media Discuss both views and give your own opinion

With the progress of technology, there are various ways of getting updated with the latest news. More and more people prefer to use cutting-edge media to receive information, rather than reading newspapers. From my perspective, newspapers are the best way to learn about news and they have irreplaceable advantages.

Internet-based media are considered an effective way to access the latest news because of the following reasons. First and foremost, using social media such as Twitter and Facebook to gain information saves a lot of living space and facilitates environmentally sustainable development. This is because online news eliminates the need for disposing of the printed newspapers, which usually become an albatross around people’s neck. In addition, other media can give us personalized adjustment, such as font side, background color and light intensity, all of which are impossible for newspapers to do. Third, according to UN's data, over 30 percent of logs are used to make paper; therefore, news media that rely on renewable energy help solve the problem of deforestation. Nevertheless, the benefits mentioned above do not necessarily mean that we can underestimate the value of traditional newspapers.

In fact, obtaining news form newspapers can bring following benefits. As far as health is concerned, reading newspapers keeps us away from electronic radiation, a carcinogenic substance which compromises our health. Also, newspapers can protect our vision due to the diffuse reflection. Instead of releasing blue ray and reflecting light that reaches our eyes in a direct straight path, newspapers scatter the ray at many angles. According to the World Health Organization, people who are accustomed to reading newspapers are far less likely to get short-sighted than people who use other media.

Second, efficiency is another advantage of receiving information from newspapers, and this is because newspapers have fewer distractions, especially push notifications, which make people focus on irrelevant things and waste time. According to the Harvard University data, the reading speed of people who read newspapers is 30 percent faster than those who use other media. What’s more, the reading quality has improved dramatically because the physical presence of newspapers can improve people’s memory.

To recapitulate, people hold different perspectives on how to keep abreast of up-to-date information. Some people assert that other media is the key pathway to news, but still, I maintain that newspapers are a more effective way to gather information, as their beneficial effects outweigh the rest.