Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different views about the roles of watching films. While some people think the only value of films is entertaining, I would argue that they should be considered both a source of entertainment and a new approach to education.

On the one hand, it can not be denied that the development of the filmmaking industry brings a huge number of films which have high quality in storytelling, scripts, designs, cinematography, and potentially informed values. Consequently, this form of entertainment can help people stimulate curiosity to indirectly broaden their horizons by approaching many fields, such as: culture, history, philosophy, psychology, science,... For instance, when an individual watches a historical film which was filmed in Vietnam, he may learn about Vietnam’s history, heritage, traditions, customs and Vietnamese’s features. If the only aim of every film is relaxation, it will lack deep insights and be difficult to gain the empathy of audiences.

However, these days people are trapped in abundant work which makes them full of anxiety and pressure. Therefore, some individuals want to solely watch films to escape from daily life and relax because they may not have enough enthusiasm to learn about something new. For example, after a hard-working day, instead of choosing historical or documentary films, office people prefer romantic-comedy ones, positively impacting on sleep and significantly boosting moods, attributing to having more energy to start a new day. If stressed people watch films which consist of a large amount of information and knowledge, they may be overloaded, negatively influencing their mental and physical health.

In conclusion, I believe that films should be relaxing and knowledgeable because the balance of educational and entertaining factors can bring audiences a wide range of benefits in both aspects.