IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Some People Believe That The Only Purpose Of Films Is To Entertain. Others Say Films Should Have Educational Value. Discuss Both Views And Give Your Opinion.

To the majority of viewers, it appears that films are simply a mean of entertainment. Meanwhile, some people contend that films also convey meaningful lessons and messages which are valuable. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the idea that films can serve educational purposes, and I will give detailed evidence for it in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some reasons making people think that films are only for entertainment and relaxation. Firstly, these days, entertaining series can appeal to a remarkably wide range of audience. For example, the Avengers film series, has made a profit of billions of dollars, thanks to their magnificent visual effects and the intriguing sci-fi narratives. As viewers are mainly attracted to entertaining films, especially the ones about superheroes, other genres might be overlooked. Secondly, people often watch films in their limited amounts of leisure time; thus, they tend to prefer the dramas with straightforward plots. As a result, they would be reluctant to be mindful of the small details, which contain implicit meanings.

On the other hand, people with an artistic character may find some notable philosophy in the cinematography industry. It is often that directors share their notions about the life and other subjects through their works. Since the most well-known and successful directors are the sophisticated people with substantial experiences of life, their perspectives could be interesting to see. For instance, Parasite, a Korean film, has recently become a global phenomenon and won the prestigious Oscar award after giving people an unprecedented view on the society.

All in all, due to the rapid growth of the entertainment industry, a large percentage of viewers have been misled that all types of films are for pleasure. Nevertheless, there are many moral values hidden in films that are beneficial for people to learn from.