As leisure activities such as reading books and watching TV play a vital role in the development of human imagination and languages skills, how to choose the correct meant is important to everyone. Some people believe that reading books is a much better way than watching TV. While from my perspective, I disagree this thought.

Firstly, TV programmes are more lovely, making children spend more time on these. It is clear to notice that children are always concentrating on children channels. These channels convey much useful information for their brains to absorb. TV channels provide all kinds of dazzling and attractive images such as wild animals, historic figures, famous statues and beautiful scenery, some of which could be naturally stored in their brains. And with the process of the incredible brain, they can collage some of the images to become an even more complex image and finally boost their imagination.

Secondly, TV programmes also supply visual contents to viewers. Language skills are always hard to learn because they require learners to imitate good samples. So the best way to imitate someone is from TV as most people have access to TV. Scientists have proved that visual memories can stay in our brain as long as possible through children’s research. By contrast, books are impossible to give readers continuous images which help readers to create visual memories.

Thirdly, the quality of TV programmes is no more boring and unhealthy as many people thought. No matter books or TV, they both are information media for viewers to connect the world. Dropping the previous judgment about TV is quite necessary. Many companies employ famous writers to help them to produce different types of TV projects, including almost all aspect of human life. Therefore, TV programmes are becoming more educational and informative.

In conclusion, watching TV is a better way to improve imagination and languages skills. May the sentence ‘Do not judge a book by its cover change to ‘ Do not judge the TV by our previous impression’.