Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

Intelligence is a complex topic widely debated nowadays. There has been a significant controversy in the academic community regarding this, which leaves a feeling of uncertainty all around the world. While some would argue that genetic factors are the most relevant aspects of defining a person's intelligence, others believe that their environment is most responsible for this trait.

Firstly, we need to consider scientific pieces of evidence that prove the existence of genetic influence on someone's intelligence. This was only possible through the development of the IQ testing since it created an assessment method to measure intellect. As a result, scientists have developed numerous researches, proving that the ability to learn a skill or a subject is intrinsically related to genes and, therefore, it is inherited from the parents.

However, the environment itself can also have a major influence on this matter. For instance, having a high level of education is a vital aspect to define intelligence. This is illustrated through the example of an uneducated person, he may have the genetics in his favour, but without the information and knowledge, the possibilities of being considered smart are relatively lower. Moreover, external factors such as drugs, alcohol and poor nutrition also can impact negatively one's intelligence, as they damage considerably the cognitive system.

In conclusion, I personally believe both aspects are extremely relevant to defining human intelligence, as many researchers have already proven. Although genetics play a critical role, I would argue that the environment can be a more substantial aspect outweighing the former as it can impact more both positively and negatively.