Some people believe that the personal information of violent criminals should be made available to the public Others think that this information should be protected

It is widely held that information about people who do illegal activities should be kept private. However, there is a more persuasive argument that one’s details must be widely shared to protect the community.

On the one hand, some people say that making personal information about individuals involved in criminal activities public can lead to innocent people being victimized. They believe the society may look down on the offender’s family members based on their association. For example, a boy who decided to commit suicide when his father’s illegal record was released. Because he not only received teasing and bullying from his friends at school but also was ridiculed by his neighbors. The treatment of the boy exceeded his threshold for tolerance and was unjust.

Nevertheless, distributing facts about offenders who have been convicted of violent crimes can prevent members of the community from danger. Because when people perceive that crime is rampant and perpetrators often escape accountability, they may lose faith in the effectiveness of these institutions. So, this effort aims to deter repeat offenses. Moreover, when criminal records are known, neighbors are willing to keep an eye on crime’s activity and report anything unlawful or suspicious to the police. A registered sex offender from Korea, for instance, is given his freedom back. However, he has required to wear an electronic monitoring device on his whereabouts and has supervised by the government.

In conclusion, while it is apparent that the private data of crime are not to be given out, it is undeniable that this information should be broadcast to become wary, taking security precautions.