Some people believe positive thinking has benefits, while others consider it has drawbacks.

Discuss both these views, and give your own opinion.

The concept of positive thinking has been around for many years. Some people believe that if we focus our minds positively, then everything will be all right, that by optimistic we will have happy, carefree existences, be healthier and live longer.

Thinking positively inspires us to endure in adversity, gives us a sense of well being, and reduces anxieties. If we tell ourselves we ‘can do it’, then any negative feeling of not being able to do something will disappear. By assuring ourselves we can achieve, then, we become more motivated and take the initiative. Say, for example, you have just been offered a promotion at work whereby you need to learn, more skills, assume more responsibility, and supervise a much larger staff. If you have negative thoughts about your ability to cope, then you may refuse the promotion. However, if you are more optimistic and tell yourself it is just a matter of easing into the job, learning along the way as others have done before you, you will accept the challenge. Naturally, you will be better off financially in your new position. Positive thinking, then, is what is in the mind.

However, I think that people who are always optimistic without considering possible pitfalls are living in a dream world, avoiding realistically assessing issues. I think our lives are governed more by how we feel and act rather than by just thinking positively about every issue. We need to feel positive about an issue before making a decision to act, not just think everything will be all right, without weighing the pros and cons. Thus the positive thinking can have its drawbacks.

An overly optimistic person will not always face facts and is not prepared to deal with life’s crises. Just thinking rich won’t make anyone rich; not accepting that a relative or friend is dying won’t make him or her well again; a hurricane heading our way won’t stop in its path. There are times when we have to prepare for the worst, may be financially, socially and environmentally and act accordingly. Although positive thinking is a useful attitude to have send has many benefits, we must also weigh up the negatives, looking at any opposing implications, so that we have a balanced view of life.