Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

People's opinions are divided whether it is compulsory for certain occupations, including doctors and engineers, to dedicate their work in the country where training sessions are provided or individuals in these fields are given free choice to be employed, regardless of the locations. Personally, I totally concur with the latter statement.

For a variety of reasons, it would be unjustifiable to force people working in medical and engineering fields to exert their time and effort in one particular nation. To begin with, as the world has become a global village, the vast majority of programmes related to popular areas, such as medical and engineering majors, can be commonly found in a great number of universities, located in both developed and developing nations. Hence, as long as learners are financially qualified, they should be given an option to choose the destination in which they are widen their knowledge. As a result, due to the fact that these are financially independent from any organisations, it is understandable if they choose to start their career in a foreign country as they may look for an opportunity to achieve a new income, which is somehow unachievable in their motherland.

Apart from the abovementioned practical reasons, a group of people hold a belief that doctors or engineers need to devote their effort in the country where they are trained. To explain, in order to avoid brain drain and retain well - qualified individuals, some governments sponsor these learners in hope of creating a skilful workforce for the labour market. In return, commitment is required as these future employees are required to work for their own motherland. Taking Vietnam as an example. Those who possess outstanding academic performance are often provided scholarship or specific training sessions from the government. However, it is compulsory for them to be employed once they finish their formal education or training time.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that despite where people conduct their training programmes, it is advisable for them to opt for the destination in their career path.