Some people believe that the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people, while others say that technology has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been the existence of the gap between the rich and the poor since a long time ago and for some people, it seems more glaring when current technology is more developed, whereas others think that technology will descend this gap. In my opinion, I advocate the first idea which shows technology broadens the gap.

On the one hand, technology changes traditional education that will eliminate the gap in awareness between the rich and the poor. Historically, the curriculum was outrageously luxurious which was only given for the nobility and it was nearly impossible for the poor to access to knowledge. However, The Industrial Revolution 4.0 occurring changed everything, it not only brings a more easy way to get the knowledge but also gives the chance for the poor to be evaluated justifiedly no matter their condition. For instance, there are now more and more public schools and online classes established on the Internet for students to get intellectuals easily that removes the gap between advantaged countries like the UK and less developed countries such as Madagascar.

On the other hand, despite the convenience technology brings, it requires an adequate condition to be able to use its services. Agree that technology brings us a more easy way to educate, but access to technology is not always possible for some people. As an illustration, in remote rural Vietnam in which electricity rarely can be used, technology is not different from nonessential. In addition, it can be seen clearly in many cities, to be cured in the modern hospital with the most progressive equipment, the expenditure is not cheap enough for the poor to afford. Thence, the gap between rich and poor people will be larger.

In conclusion, the range of technology can zoom out the gap of perspective between the rich and the poor but it is not completely effective and even go to the opposite effect by its cost. In my opinion, technology just partly reduces this gap in limited fields, but it makes the gap worse in many aspects.