some people believe that school children should be given homework by their teachers. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that the teachers in school should give homework to their pupils. Personally, I completely agree with this view.

In my opinion, the assignments at home play a crucial role in the schooling of children. This is because it encourages pupil’s independent learning and problem-solving skills through pupils are required to work through tasks alone with their own space. Furthermore, the extra exercises at home enable them to have the additional practice to get a better grasp of lessons. For example, when pupils do math homework, they have a chance not only to consolidate their understanding of concepts which was taught by their teachers in class but also enhance the ability to memorize formulas faster and longer. As a result, it eases significantly the burden of revising for exams due to they constantly reminded of the main points in each lesson via their homework.

Besides, I believe that for a variety of reasons, eliminating homework can have a somewhat negative impact on a student’s academic performance. Firstly, students do not have a chance to make a mistake in their tasks, which allow them to learn from their blunders in preparation for exams and tests in school. For instance, a writing course without homework is unable to upgrade the writing skill of learners through trial and error. Secondly, the teachers can have difficulty to track student’s progress if one of their assessment tools, homework is eliminated. Finally, depleting homework also deprives parents of the opportunity to get involved in their child’s schoolwork to give provide assistance when necessary.

In conclusion, my view is that it is essential for teachers to give their pupils the exercise at home due to its numerous benefits.