Some people believe that scientific research should be carried out by government only not by private companies. To what extent do you agree?

Scientific experiments are indispensable for all new discoveries. In the contemporary world, many government bodies and private corporations perform research at their facilities. A vast majority of the general public has opposite views about the involvement of private companies into science research platforms. I am in consummate accord with the notion that only governments should be allowed to be perform research projects.

First and foremost reason for such an ideology is safety. Publicly funded Laboratories are specifically designed and constructed for scientific purposes and are far more safer to deal with critical experimental materials. Most of the times the Government funded buildings and labs are equipped with state of the art safety features. These organizations also contain more operating capital to implement safety regulations. All of the research work involves careful and safe handling of dangerous chemicals, live specimens, and radioactive materials; therefore, can jeopardize public health if safety policies are not strictly followed. More often, private institutions do not have such an infrastructure and accidents remain at the brink of happening. For example, One private hospital in India exposed number of children to the HIV virus during a clinical trail.

Secondly, Private multinational corporations envision profit out of their research outcome. Nearly all big businesses endeavour to patent their research products and make billions of dollars by selling those products. For instance, various drug manufacturing companies invent drugs under their own control and supervision then later sell the medicines at very high cost. This is because the millions of people in developing nations are deprived from necessary medical treatment.

To encapsulate, I believe if the imperative scientific discoveries are carried out under the government control then people can benefit from safer techniques and highly valuable research outcomes.