Some people believe that smart phones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the rapid development of technology, it is commonly believed that smartphones, which have now become ubiquitous, are putting an end to social bonds. Although this statement may partially be true, I do not totally concur with it and believe that smartphones are, in some aspects, beneficial to human interactions.

On the one hand, the use of smartphones to communicate with people who are far away has enabled individuals from around the world to gather virtually without having to meet up directly. Not only has this convenience improved our quality of living, but it has also increased social interactions within groups of acquaintances and people from different societies. A shred of vivid evidence comes from students who study abroad. These students, despite being deprived of the opportunity to stay with their families, can now interact with them online on the daily basis.

On the other hand, although it is true that online interactions have gone up, face-to-face conversations, which are considered to be more important, have significantly declined in quantity. This is because once one gets addicted to delusional online bonds, they will no longer conduct real-life interactions as of its inconvenience, especially teenagers and young people. For instance, many teenagers nowadays refuse to leave their room for a direct conversation as they can do the same thing online. If teenagers had not been using smartphones, many of them would have participated more in face-to-face conversations.

In conclusion, smartphones provide a few benefits in enhancing social interactions. However, given that detrimental implications take precedence over positive ramifications, I agree that these devices are destroying social interactions.