Some people believe that spending money on developing technology for space exploration is unjustifiable, and there are more beneficial ways to spend money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many hold the view that countries should provide financial aids for other aspects instead of space research. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that exploring the universe is necessary. In this essay I will discuss both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that it is not suitable for the government to invest money in outer space exploration, since there are numerous issues existing on Earth and requiring governments to spend money on solving them, such as environmental protection and poor-quality medical services. In addition, it is wiser for countries to pay close attention to improving living standard in the world. For example, nations should fund the education, which not only enables schools to have more budgets on purchasing advanced equipment, but also allows the poor students to receive formal education.

On the other hand, however, space exploration can help address energy crisis. This is because scientists may discover new kinds of energy in the universe and bring them back to the earth, which means that they can replace traditional fossil fuels to power machines. Furthermore, there is also a chance in a million that scientists find another planet hospitable to humans through the exploration and in this way, the problem of overpopulation can be tackled.

To summarize, there is no doubt that governments should pump money into the areas related to the conditions of people living on Earth. At the same time, nonetheless, space research can be considered a good way to deal with the problems on Earth. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that nations ought to allocate its budgets to the living standard and outer space exploration.