Some people believe that spending money on developing technology for space exploration is unjustifiable, there are more beneficial ways to spend money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Large amounts of money have been spent on technology for space exploration programmes since several decades. Although I agree with that it makes sense to spend money on space exploration, the funds should also be allocated to other aspects like public services.

On one hand, I suppose that space exploration is very likely to help human being to cope with the problem of resources. It is deniable that traditional resources will run out in the future. Exploiting rare resources in outer space is necessary since it can relieve the shortage of resources. Further, faced with population explosion and degradation, scientists need to seek for a suitable habitat for human in extra-terrestrial space.

On the other hand, I hold that it is unsound to pay most of the funds for space programmes. Space programmes, including training astronauts and manufacturing spaceships come at huge costs to government, increasing the financial burden of the governments. In addition, many projects make little progress and it turns out taxing and unrewarding. It means it is difficult to benefit the masses. However, if the massive money goes to vital public services instead, it will have great outcomes. Compared to space programmes, spending money on technology for public services is easier to gain fruit having impacts on everyone. For example, Intelligent Transportation System which can strengthen the connection between people、cars and roads is of great beneficial to ordinary people due to improving traffic congestions. It gives people better quality of life.

In conclusion, my view is that the massive funds should be spent on services which can benefit most people in their daily life rather than space exploration, a project which is a waste of money.