Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

School sport continues to be a controversial topic in the school curriculum, just as sport itself has become a controversial industry in some respects. There are valid arguments on both sides, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, there are considerable number of logical arguments against it. For instance, critics feel that it uses up time which could be better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, they consider it unwise to force children to embrace sport activities although they have no interest in. After all, some youngsters are just not sporty, so should be allowed to study instead. Finally, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we can be seen in cycling at present. Opponents of it believe that this lack of morals sets a poor example to young people.

On the other hand, counter-arguments proposed by proponents in terms of advantages it brings are not only significant in numbers but also rational as well. For example, one such major benefit of sport is that it helps children’s physical development at an important stage. If all their time was spent studying, they would become unfit, eventually their minds would suffer. Furthermore, supporters of school sport emphasize the importance of team building in sports such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be an excellent preparation for adulthood. Moreover, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today, is fostered by sports at an early age. It is notable, to exemplify that many successful business people excelled in sport at school.

In conclusion, I feel that sport should be compulsory for school children, because the positive effect on their mental and physical development outweighs the negatives provided that children are given a wide range to choose from, to ensure their interest is high, the sport industry itself maintains the highest standards of conduct as well.