Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The need to adopt the best practices in the communication and information industry cannot be overemphasized, hence, some individuals think foreign news should be a subject in students' curriculum. However, some argue this will only amount to wasting the precious time needed to focus on other subjects. In this essay, I will discuss both views in-depth and give my opinion.

On the one hand, proponents of students learning international news believe this would help them familiarize themselves with how they run their operations. No doubt the likes of Cable News Network and British Broadcasting Commission who have been in the game for decades are the most viewed channels, because of their perceived reliability. If students are taught the rudiments of how they built such credibility over the years, this can be applied to local news channels to ensure that the right practices are employed in newsgathering, reporting, and journalism.

On the other hand, those against this idea think it is not necessary. They suggest valuable time be spent on student’s majors, such as mathematics, sciences, and technology, rather than learning information on global news as this may cause distraction. For instance, a study conducted by the National Education Board of Nigeria found that majority of the students who partook in elective courses had their core subjects score reduced by 25%. Thus, emphasis should be placed on what is needed by the students. Besides, there are students who would benefit from this subject especially those studying mass communication and journalism.

In conclusion, although the argument whether or not students should learn international news can be seen as a waste of valuable time, it is apparently beneficial to those whose core courses revolve around it and I agree.