Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely perceived that after graduating from high schools, youngsters cope with the dilemma of whether to get a job or pursue higher education. Whilst there are some apparent benefits of getting a job straight after school, there are still a bounty of opposition, which will be discussed both.

On the one hand, the option to begin commence working straight after school is regarded utterly attractive for several reasons. Headmost, many young people want to start earning money as soon as possible. In this way, they can become independent, and they will be able to afford their own house or start a family. Additionally, with the ones who were born in needy families, this decision is swiftly advantageous, as they could work for a living and perhaps raise their families. Secondly, in terms of their career, youngsters who decide to find work, rather than continue their studies, may progress more quickly. This due to the fact that they will have early opportunities to obtain real experience and practical skills related to their chosen profession, that may be conducive to promotions and a successful career.

On the other hand, pursuing higher education might provide exclusive upper hands that getting a job straight after school is unable to do. Firstly, academic qualifications are required in a variety of professions. For instance, it is impossible to become a doctor, lawyer or teacher without possessing the relevant degree. As a consequence, university graduates have access to more and better job opportunities, and they tend to get well – paid jobs rather than those with fewer qualifications. Secondly, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position / vacancy of a company. Notably, it is practically proved that young people who do not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to compete.

To sum up, it stands to reason that there will be more likelihood for students to succeed and progress in their career if they choose to pursue higher education.