some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. others, however, argue that the circumstanced of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it,should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

discuss both these views and give your own opinions

When we were children, our parents punished us for disobeying their orders and when we went to school, our teachers grounded us for ignoring school rules or forgetting or home works then when we grew up the authorities began to punish anyone who committed a crime according to the law.

Law is a list of rules and instruction that bring order and prevent chaos. Some people believe that this list must be fixed with no exceptions and that brings equality to the communities, but others argue that the circumstances of the crime have to be taken in consideration and that makes the law more flexible and suits any individual situation and they thought that brings justice to communities. In the following few paragraphs we are going to discuss those two contrasted opinions.

First, we are going to ask why some people think that punishments must be fixed without looking for the reason behind each crime? The people believe in this point of view think that a crime once committed it requires an act of punishment regardless the circumstances of it. They believe that this act makes everyone equal in front of law also they consider that there is no justification for any crime. For example: when a poor man robs a bank for getting money for his family this is not a proper excuse for committing this crime and he is a criminal anyway in front of the law. That brings us to the concept of equality which states that everyone is equal in law and every criminal must have their fair penalty.

In contrast, others argue that punishments must be special for each individual case because, sometimes crimes are committed by accident or out of vengeance so, in those types of cases the accused has to be treated by mercy. If a person murdered someone for killing his mother according to this point of view this person may not be fair to accuse him of murder. His punished will differ from anyone who commits crimes in purpose. Other example: when people do something wrong by accident without intention to harm anyone like car accidents in this case also mercy with this people should be a priority in judgment.

At the end of this paragraph, I assume that punishments need to be flexible not rigid to suit all the cases and to fulfill the meaning of justice but authorities should intensively monitor this flexibility to make it always within the rational limits to fulfill the meaning of equality.