Some people believe that traditional culture is being damaged as it is used as a tool for making money in the tourism industry. Others think it is the only way to protect culture and tradition.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Tourism always plays an important role in the profit of a nation. Some people are convinced by the idea that traditional culture has lost its value over time because it has been treated as a money-making tool. The rest believe that it is the only method to carry on culture.

The reason that leads to the first belief system is the overcharges of some tourist attractions. Sa Pa is one the most vivid examples, there are thousands of foreigners who visit this area every year. Some tourist companies are using their trust and naiveness to fool them into buying useless crafts under the name of helping the minority ethnics community. They have sold various handkerchiefs, hats, scarfs with a huge amount of money by convincing the tourists that those crafts are handmade. These actions have caused a lot of negative damage to the image of the minority ethnics in specific and Vietnamese people in general.

But on the other hand, toustim has brought lots of tradition to more people through media and compercial. In the development of tourism, they always search for new types of entertainment to please the customers’ needs. In that process, they have saved a lot of endangered traditions and created multiple career options. For example, without tourism, the art of making Dong Ho paintings would be lost. At first, the artists who paint Dong Ho paintings were disappointed, frustrated because no one buys those paintings anymore, so they can’t not pursuit their passion for a living. Thanks to the commercial by touristry, Dong Ho paintings have come closer to the crowd and soon gained a huge popularity. The more people know, the more paintings are sold, which has boosted the passion of the artists and Dong Ho continues to live on. Because of that I strongly believe that the development of the tourism industry will bring a lot of benefits to the citizens and the traditions.

To conclude, every industry has their benefits and drawbacks. But in the case of touristry, traditions and culture gained more than what they’ve lost. So I have faith that by using culture as a money-making machine because it’ll benefit both sides, and help culture to reach their highest potential.