Some people believe that unpaid community service be a compulsory part of high school programs for example working for a charity improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children To what extent do you agree or disagree

Community service program for high school help students understand the importance of doing good to the society and taking care of one another. It helps to nature young minds to be selfless. Let us discuss if community service should be unpaid and its advantages and disadvantages.

We live in a society with people from different backgrounds, ethnicity, religion and social status. There are people who are aged, poor, orphans who are neglected by the society. Even animals and plants are neglected, there also part of the world we live in. Encouraging school students to participate in community service such as taking care of aged people at old age home, orphan kids and animals will make them sympathetic and build compassion for all. Cleaning parks, planting trees, teaching kids in slums will make them socially responsible who will grow up to build a better society.

Some students do not like to participate in community service and would rather wile away their time doing nothing. Parents also feel their children should use the time on studies because they are already burdened with school works. To make such students understand the importance of community service, schools should make it compulsory and make them involved in such activities and during school hours. There are also community services which are paid, this will make students do the service only for money without involvement, there by defeating the whole purpose of community service.

In my opinion, community service should be made unpaid and compulsory. It will make the students participate without any expectations. They will understand the need to do the services and become more involved. I feel even parents should encourage their children to participate in such services. This enable to build a better society and people.