Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what exatent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should not be required to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of drawbacks to obligatory service for teenagers. Perhaps the pressing issue is that voluntary activities can cause students to become more stressed given that devotion to compulsory community service can occupy time that would otherwise be spent studying for exams. In other words, having less time to revise their studies can increase the level of their stress. Another disadvantage is that mandatory charitable work can deprive students of a chance to participate in leisure activities that help them relax. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments against obligatory volunteering.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that voluntary work merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that volunteering can make it possible for teenagers to develop skills, such as maturity and problem-solving abilities, which will be invaluable in their studies and future career. In addition, it can allow youngsters to obtain not only a sense of responsibility but also social skills. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for mandatory volunteering, pupils would be less likely to strengthen social bonds. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengthens, as discussed above.