Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes for example working for a charity improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children To what exatent do you agree or disagree

It is vital to consider social life as well as academic education. Unpaid activities like working for a charity are said to be useful for giving high school students the chance to improve their life-skills. It is also believed that such services should be a part of compulsory part of programmes at the high schools.

Community services such as improving the neighborhood are not demanded, but because of being unpaid, they lack human resources. It would be beneficial financially if these activities were assigned to students. Apart from this, teenagers need to be aware of their social responsibilities in the future. By doing these activities, instead of wasting their time by playing video games, they can be well-prepared. Also, this is a right time for them because they are about to enter the society.

Although it is accepted that involving teenagers in voluntary services is a good idea, it would not live up our expectation if students were forced to do unpaid community services. In my opinion, teenagers are less likely to have a high performance if we force them to do so. Same as academic education, they can easily escape from homework unless they really want to learn. As well as this, not all kinds of community services are easy to do. For instance, teaching sports to youngsters needs a professional coach. Because it would be beyond remedy if anything went wrong.

In conclusion, voluntary community services can be a great opportunity for high school students. However, same as academic education, they should not be compulsory and they should not be risky.