Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programs for example working for a charity improving neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, there has been a growing concern about whether students should do some volunteer work as part of high school life. This has led to a suggestion that volunteer service should be a mandatory course of the high school programs. In my opinion, this constructive idea is completely feasible despite some manageable demerits.

Admittedly, wasting time is perceived as one of the disadvantages of integrating volunteering into high school curricula. For instance, students are usually under pressure at the end of each semester, during which they have to juggle their school commitments and volunteer jobs. As a result, being overwhelmed with too much work, they might not only perform poorly on exams and submit a late final paper but also show less devotion to voluntary work. However, this does not necessarily imply that high school students should shy away from volunteer service.

In fact, unpaid community service gives students an opportunity to practice and build social skills for their future life and career since they are meeting regularly with a group of people with common interests. For example, students who volunteer to help the elderly at senior homes will practice communication skills and develop a sense of compassion for the needy before they work in the real society. In other words, students are able to understand more about how to kindly treat people in society, and this useful skill will help them do better in their future work.

In addition, volunteering provides students with many benefits to mental health. Many scientific studies have shown that helping others has a profound effect on our psychological well-being. Not only can students relieve study-related stress but they can get a feeling of gratification and increase self-confidence after a meaningful connection to those in need of help. With a sense of accomplishment growing in their mind, therefore, students would have a positive view of their life and future goals.

To recapitulate, the idea of making community volunteering a mandatory part of high school programs is completely viable. In spite of the concern for wasting time, volunteering help students foster the sense of a community and counteract the effects of anxiety. Hence, high school students should seize the chance to make contributions to society.