Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It can not be denied that unpaid community services have a good impact on high school students. While many people argue that they should be included in required programmes at school, I partly disagree with this notion due to pupils' different hobbies and conditions.

On the one hand, the idea of making voluntary activities a compulsory option in high school programmes is reasonable to some advantages. Firstly, unpaid work can help students nurture their kindness. Many pupils realize when they join in charity programmes, they gradually feel that helping other people is their new motivation and from then, they give more value to the community. Another reason is unpaid community services improve the team working skills of participants. Only by combining smoothly between students can a voluntary campaign be successful. For instance, a blood donation campaign needs many different tasks and if students work independently, the rest is easy to fail.

Despite the above-mentioned advantages, I believe that those activities shouldn’t be compulsory in school programmes because it also based on many factors like hobbies and conditions. The first reason for this is there are not always many students who love voluntary work. If they are forced to do something they don’t like, the goal of these activities can be counterproductive. Besides, many pupils have a preference to find a job that helps them make a living because of their poor financial conditions. For that reason, making them do something freely is not a good idea for their education.

In conclusion, although unpaid community services are a good choice to be included in high school programmes it will be far more meaningful if they are done voluntarily.