Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that it should be mandatory for the young, especially high school students, to engage in unpaid social activities. Looking from my perspective, I partly agree with this idea for several reasons.

On the one hand, the disadvantages of requiring students to take part in community services are in plant sight. The most obvious reason is that they might consume a great amount of time for unpaid jobs. Undoubtedly, they have to set aside their free time to learn knowledge, skills so that they can be qualified enough to provide aid to other people. However, hectic people do not have enough time for voluntary activities, which leads to the lack of time for relaxation and some mental issues or even bad academic achievements. In addition, some organizations can take advantage of volunteers to cater to their own benefits. For example, medical companies used to ask the young to distribute flyers about raising health awareness but this is also an effective way to advertise for their products.

On the other hand, there are some positive effects that volunteers can experience. Apparently, Social activities would bring a spirit of dedication and responsibility because helping other people enables volunteers to sympathize and have a more insight into predicaments of underprivileged people. Therefore, they can enhance moral development and become empathic citizens. Furthermore, these activities will benefit their future careers. Nowadays, recruiters value candidates who have participated in volunteer programs because they are thought to have gained hands-on experience and social skills, giving them a better chance of having those certificates on their resumes.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks to forcing students to take part in charity work such as wasting time and being used, they are surpassed by the benefits which are good for future careers and better morality.