Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes(for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or taeching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether high school students should take part in the non-paid work for their local communities. While I disagree with the idea of making such programmes compulsory, I do believe that voluntary community service could benefit young people.

There are three reason why public service working is benefit for the youth. Firstly, when teenagers participate in some charity activities, they can learn how to take care others, such as the elderly or the child that help them development better or make them growth in these projects. Secondly, teenagers take part in the community service that can improve their communication skills that adapt the social life which will be an eligible society member. Thirdly, our communities not only include the adult, but also include the youth, everyone have responsibility to build up our community that let it become a harmonious community.

However, I disagree with these services should be compulsory programmes. On one hand, free to work for communities that children may be worked casually because there is no award to attract their attention which they may mindlessness. On the other hand, there are many difficult and heavy subjects for high school students to learn which compulsory community services may aggravate the burden of study tasks. In addition, some students will generate some sense of annoying from these activities that decrease their ethusiasm in serving their communities.

In conclusion, my view is community service with many advantages to the high school but it can not be a compulsory part of high school programmes which can encourage students to willing to serve the communities.