Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more countries pay attention to sports. However, with the increase of the sports finance in preparing competitors to participate in world’s level competitions, some people think that government need to spend money on inspiring children do sports when their young. I partly agree this opinion because I think government need to pay for the preparation of the competitions, also ought to spend money on the youth sports.

On one hand, countries spend money on preparing competitors who taking part in some world class competitions have many benefits. Firstly, if competitors win the champion, it will improve the nation identity. This is because athletes are fight for the countries which means that they win the competitions, they increase the countries influence in the world and the citizen also get the proud of it. Secondly, when countries spend lots of money to preparing the competitions also means that countries attach important in sports, which can encourage many talented children take part in sport games. Thirdly, preparing competitors to join in the competitions is also one part of the government finance.

On the other hand, when countries spend some money to encourage children do some sports from a young age will have more advantages than preparing competitors who take part in world class competitions. Spending money to encourage children take up sports can help more talented children become successful athletes. For example, in China, many famous athletes all training when they were young, such as Quan Hongchan who won the Olympic Games swimming gold medal, which training when she was 5 years old. Moreover, this will can be benefit for more children who are in poor area. If government spend money to encourage children do sports can help more poor children have chance to touch some common sport because some poor area without physical tool on the communities. Meanwhile, it can make children have a strong body. This is because doing sports can help children have a health lifestyle and benefit for their development of their bodies.

In conclusion, countries not only need to spend money on preparing competitors but also ought to pay for encouraging children to do sports when they are young.