Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for examples working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high school students should be taken part in unpaid community services as a compulsory subjects of high school programs. Most of colleges and universities are already providing students opportunities to gain valuable skills and more experience through workshops and voluntary activities, however, these are not compulsory. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view.

On the one hand, life skills are very important. By doing voluntary work, students can learn how to effectively communicate with others, work in a team, how to manage their time and improve their organizational skills. Nowadays, unfortunately, Vietnamese teenagers do not have many voluntary activities after school hours. Students mostly go home for homework or do useless leisure activities like surf web, Facebook or chatting with their friends via phone. Applying community activities as compulsory programs, students will be encouraged to do something more creative. Skills and experience gained through these programs will be useful for them to put on their CV for purpose of finding jobs or applying to reputation universities.

On the other hand, healthy life balance and exercise is also one of the benefit from unpaid community services and NHS strongly promotes these programs. Spare time for charity works will be prevented students from sitting or do things that do have meanings which can cause many health problems such as obesity or autism. It could decrease the crime level in the high school age group. If students participate in community activities, they will not be bored and come up with silly ideas which can dangerous for them and society. This is also the best way for students to relax after stressful hours at school.

In conclusion, I restate my opinion that unpaid community services should be a compulsory program at high school and should be put into action shortly.