Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes(for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that unpaid community service needs to be conducted as a compulsory part of high school programmes. In my opinion, it is a good approach to involve the students in such activities, for a better growth of communication and interpersonal skills.

Interpersonal and communication skills are significant assets for the students to adapt in the growing and competitive employment market, as the students will be working in a communicative and interactive environment during the voluntary work period. By the involvement in unpaid community services, students will also develop a sense of sympathy towards needy communities and get a willingness to help others.

Nowadays, teenagers spend most of their spare time either on the internet, social media platforms or some inappropriate activities. So, organizing unpaid community services in schools will motivate them to utilize their time effectively. For instance, my school solely focused on academic aspects without prioritizing other outdoor tasks. Thus, we could not explore our interests and we lacked vital skills that would have led us to better present and future. In addition, unpaid voluntary works create an awareness towards the students about the effort required for earning money, which will result in monetary respect and discipline in spending money more practically.

To sum up, unpaid community services is a necessary school activity to promote students' knowledge about the external scenario and make them realize the satisfaction of helping people selflessly.