Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (e.g working in a charity, improving the relationship of neighborhood or teaching sports to children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that high school students should be forced to do unpaid community activities as a part of their curriculum. While I accept that these activities are beneficial for pupils, I would argue that voluntary work should not be put compulsorily for them.

On the one hand, it seems true that students doing unpaid work can lead to severe notable advantages. Firstly, participating in community service allows students to gain some useful skills such as communication and team working skills which are very necessary for them to become a good citizen in the future. since students usually work and coöperate with a large number of people in society, this could help them gain more experience and feel more confident after graduating from university. Secondly, students who used to do voluntary community service are more likely to get a good job because employers might value highly their contribution to the community. For example, my friend experienced an unsalaried work for teaching poor students during his high school period, after that, he easily became a teacher in a big university.

On the other hand, I believe that high schools should not force students to do unpaid activities. The first explanation is that since students usually spend most of their time in schools and have to do their homework every day, so they often suffer from stress. Therefore, if they join voluntary activities, they might not have enough time to fulfill their studying. Recent researches have shown that a busy curriculum is one of the main reasons which directly affects students’ scores. Another vital point is that students should be encouraged to play sports or other kinds of entertainment after a hard studying day. Instead of doing such activities like working in a charity or teaching, students could spend their time with their friends of families, which helps them to reduce stress, recharge their energy to study more effectively.

In conclusion, although doing unpaid work could be helpful for students, I firmly believe that these activities should not be put as a compulsory part of the school.