Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt to say that volunteering should be made part of the school curriculum. personally, I partly agree that every student should be required to do something for the society.

There are a wide range of reasons to dispute the requirement of community service for high school students. Firstly, there is already full of school schedule with significant academic subjects, including maths, physics, science and languages. For instance, when I was at high school, I regularly was unable to join in charitable work due to busy timetable. Secondly, if students took part in summer campaign or neighborhood improvement schemes, they could waste remarkably the valuable study time for other subjects. Finally, I feel that some extra teenagers might not want to do any programs of obligatory work as well as theirs reluctance, and it could make them poor motivation and undesirable behavior.

On the other hand, voluntary community service could bring enormously positive and profound effect to high school students. Beside the option of these programs, schools ought to ensure that inspiring students would be allowed to join in. As a consequence, these teenagers would acquire extensive experience in working environment, which could help them build their personal confidence and enhance soft skills immensely. Additionally, young people could enrich their career prospects if they accumulate such valuable experience and skills on their CVs.

In conclusion, I believe that high school programs should engage students to join in volunteering work because of positive benefits, but schools should not make its requirement.