Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high

school programes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or

teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested by some that high schools should have mandatory school programs for

students to participate in community programs. These programs that are part of the school

academic curriculum would bring two of many benefits: the learning of practical life skills and

assets that may contribute to employability. I therefore wholeheartedly agree that unpaid

community work should be compulsory for students.

Volunteering in communities should be compulsory at schools because interpersonal skills and a

sense of compassion are life experiences that can be learnt in addition to academia. It is

undoubtedly so that schools place a greater emphasis on studies, although students can also learn from

their experiences by helping others. For instance, many high school programs in Australia these

days hold a mandatory week of unpaid community work for students, such as volunteering in aged

care facilities, preschools or even animal shelters. A student who volunteers alongside older

people or those with disabilities is bound to gain social skills and earn a deeper sense of

empathy. These skills are useful for children’s futures that are also a great complement to their

school studies, and should hence be a compulsory part of school education.

Unpaid participation in local charities and communities can also be beneficial for employability after

graduating from high school. By immersing oneself with local causes, the aforementioned life skills

gained from volunteering are attractive features that employers seek. For example, other than

one’s academic results, employers these days often specify that potential job candidates should

have strong interpersonal skills and the ability to communicate with a range of clients and

stakeholders. The experiences gained from unpaid community services would hence allow

students’ resumes to stand out in comparison to those who have not engaged in it. If students do not take part in those volunteers tasks, they would never achieve appropriate communication skills. For these reasons, schools should therefore advocate compulsory volunteer work for students.

In conclusion, according to the points mentioned above, students can gain practical skills and

subsequently increase their employability from unpaid community service. Making it mandatory

will only be advantageous.