Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high
school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or
teaching sports to younger children).
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It has been suggested by some that high schools should have compulsory school programs for
students to participate in community programs. These programs that are part of the school
academic curriculum would bring two of many benefits: the learning of practical life skills and
assets that may contribute to empeloyability. I therefore wholeheartedly agree that unpaid
community work should be compulsory for students.
Volunteering in communities should be compulsory at schools because interpersonal skills and a
sense of compassion are life experiences that can be learnt in addition to academia. It is
undoubtedly so that schools place a greater emphasis on studies, but students can also learn from
their experiences by helping others. For instance, many high school programs in Australia these
days hold a compulsory week of unpaid community work for students, such as volunteering in aged
care facilities, preschools or even animal shelters. A student who volunteers alongside older
people or those with disabilities is bound to gain social skills and earn a deeper sense of
empathy.These skills are useful for children’s futures that are also a great complement to their
school studies, and should hence be a compulsory part of school education.
Unpaid participation in local charities and communities can also be beneficial for empeloyability after
graduating from high school. By immersing oneself with local causes, the aforementioned life skills
gained from volunteering are attractive features that employers seek. For example, other than
one’s academic results, employers these days often specify that potential job candidates should
have strong interpersonal skills and the ability to communicate with a range of clients and
stakeholders. The experiences gained from unpaid community services would hence allow
students’ resumes to stand out in comparison to those who have not engaged in it. For these
reasons, schools should therefore advocate compulsory volunteer work for students.
In conclusion, from the points mentioned above, students can gain practical skills and
subsequently increase their empeloyability from unpaid community service. Making it compulsory
will only be advantageous.