Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on society. Others deny that these have any significant influence on people's behavior.

What is your opinion?

It is argued by many that violent content on television and in computer games has harmful implications on people’s behavior while the opponents of this view opine that TV programs and computer games which have violent images do not affect how people behave. In my opinion, the first point of view seems more viable.

One the one hand, it is understandable why some people think that views or gamers are not negatively influenced by what they watch on TV or play. Their explanation is that adults are mature and have ability to differentiate between wright and wrong. Therefore, they do not behave aggressively just because of watching a films containing violent scenes, for example. However, this thinking is not always true as the main audience of TV or players of computer games are children and teenagers. These people are vulnerable to violent content on TV and games.

Children are immature and they are in the process of growing up, so they tend to imitate what they watch and hear. Being exposed to such inappropriate programs on TV or spending time on computer games may lead to violent behaviors or affect their ability to know the reality and virtuality. For instance, it is likely that a little boy watching a movie in which a hero fights against his enemies acts as if he was a hero and copied the actions. This sometimes causes injuries for the boy himself and other people. Likewise, teenagers can be badly influenced when spending excessive time playing games. Those playing games containing violent images or content tend to get angry easily and lose control in terms of emotion and action.

In conclusion, while adults may not be affected by what is on TV or computer games, violent content on these social media platforms can affect children and teenagers’ behavior sooner or later.