Some people believe that a year off between school and university could be advantageous for school leavers, while others disagree for many reasons. Discuss both sides of this debate. What is your own view on this?

In present era, graduating from high school is a significant milestone in a student’s life that influences their decisions. People who appreciate the positive effects of the gap year emphasize a specific claim that it is a good idea, whereas opponents strongly believe that the gap year is useless. Even though both arguments possess valid points, I believe that the free period between high school and university is an extremely creative idea, which we will discuss now.

Moving on to the negative effects of the gap year, while it is true that students may lose motivation to learn if they do not apply to university the following year, it creates fear in the parent industries, and the adverse bias is a result of this situation. A gap year, for example, is an illegal action in Thailand, and students may face pressure from their parents as a result. Furthermore, because not all students take a gap year, the power of comparison is undeniably at work, affecting students sitting alongside their parents indirectly.

On the other hand, thought, there are significant disadvantages to this situation, but the increased amount of time to realize their preferences and rest benefits those students. To begin, it does not appear excessive to claim that students have a very short time to explore their likeliness, as evidenced by the increasing number of transfer students at the university. Second, enormous pressure from family and other factors would cause excessive stress for those freshmen; however, this can be remedied by a free period of rest after graduation. As a result, it is true that the gap year is effective and provides numerous benefits.

Finally, it is agreed that the free period has more positive than negative consequences. This can be seen in the extra time they have to explore their true preferences and rest. In the long run, if the merit that points to the ineffective factors of the gap year is removed, applying to university will no longer be as stressful as it is in today's society.