Some people believe that young people should choose the jobs that they want, but other people think they should be more realistic and think more about their future.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The debate over whether prioritising professional passion or practical considerations in career choice is increasingly pertinent to today’s young people. Personally, it is more prudent to invest in a career that can to a certain extent fulfill the both categories.

The advocates of following one’s passion often predicate their argument on the fact that passion could lead to job satisfaction, hence great achievements. This is because passion provides intrinsic motivation necessitating in pursuit of ambitious goals despite adversities, while the lack of such essential element would discourage a person from persevering through challenges they encounter. Consider the case of Ronaldo in realm of sports, his genuine interest in football has enabled him to achieve extraordinary successes, demonstrating that a true vocation empowers an athlete to surmount any obstacles countered on the path to achievements. For this reason, it is inevitable that passion is factored in an individual consideration of a career choice.

The critics of passion-driven approach point out that adamantly pursuing occupational interests may not always result in financial stability. This is evidenced by the fact that many renowned passionate artists, such as Van Gogh, endured enormous economic struggles throughout their careers, even after obtaining a certain degree of fame, let alone young artists. This means that a stable income is not always equivalent to huge passion. It is, nevertheless, of note the excessive emphasis on pragmatism in career choices hinders professional development since it is challenging for many young people to sustain long-term motivation in jobs that are solely driven by such extrinsic factors as monetary rewards and benefits packages. A High turnover rate in sales section is a prime example of this phenomenon where high income cannot retain employees for long. As a result, it is advisable for a young person to invest time in identifying a personal interest that is only financially viable but also personally fulfilling to enjoy a healthy work-life balance although such decision-making process will be long.

In conclusion, placing an emphasis on either passion or realistic elements might not be ideal as it is more rewarding for a young person to find the right balance between the two approaches.