One long distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution. So some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights such as tourist travel, rather than to limit the use of cars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The emissions from a long-haul airplane are comparable to those from a car over a few years; however, the flight consumes much more energy than a car. Therefore, it is argued that non-essential flights rather than automobile usage should be limited. Such idea is hardly plausible as people will be reluctant to forgo the benefits that both cars and airplanes offer to them.

it is undeniable that airplanes and automobiles have become the most popular modes of transport. Such enormous popularity has made possible due to the fact these two world-changing inventions have enabled humans to address two major problems regarding saving time and transporting heavy payloads over long distances. Hence, even though the two means of transport have been disrupting the balance of nature significantly through their use of natural resources, the advantages they have brought to humanity are substantial that it is a seemingly insurmountable challenge to curtail their usage. For example, were we forced to use trains instead of planes to travel abroad, it would definitely cost us a much greater amount of time for travelling, which would ultimately mean more days off and lost working time. Similar to how it would be hard to restrict the use of automobiles, especially light-duty trucks, as they are essential to an economy.

For these reasons, the focus should be shifted onto the use of renewable resources and environmentally-friendly designs. For the time being, this is probably the most viable solution to environmental problems as not only can we use automobiles and airplanes as much as we need, but also reduce their impacts on nature. In fact, governments across the world are providing incentives to automobile manufacturers who are investing in battery-powered cars running on solar energy so that these cars can be price-competitive and attracted to customers. Similarly, airplanes have been designed to be significantly fuel-efficient so as to decrease the release of nitrous oxide and particulate matter into the air. Obviously, such modifications to the two most common vehicles have not compromised our convenience while creating a smooth transition into a cleaner world.

In conclusion, restricting the use of non-essential flights and even cars is hardly possible as they are integral parts of our daily activities, and therefore, the best approach to environmental issues is to introduce green technologies and increase energy efficiency.