Some people claim that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings while other people argue that it is wrong Discuss both views and give your opinion

Innumerable advances are being in the field of science and medicine. But the animals are the prime victims of the experiments of new products. Some group of people argue that using them for the experiments is doing injustice to them. Before commenting on my opinion, I would provide the reasons for this purpose and the alternatives, if there are any, in the further paragraphs.

To begin with, since the past 100 years, scientists test drugs and cosmetics on animals like apes and guinea pigs. These animals have similarities with human being, so the medicines are tested on them to ensure that no human being will be harmed. For instance, if a drug is invented for a new disease it is examined on the lab animals. The effects or the side-effects they go through determines whether the med is fit for humans or not. According to researches the effects will be equivalent on humans. If the drug passes all the tests they release it in the market or else they design another formula. Opponents of such research argue that humans have no right to subject animals to this kind of trauma, and that the lives of all creatures should be respected. They believe that the benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused, and scientists should use substitutes.

On the flip side, reliable proxies to animal experimentation are hardly available. Supporters think that a certain amount of discomfort on the part of rodents and monkeys can be justified if human lives are saved. They argue that opponents of such research might feel differently if any of their family members suffer from any nun tested drug.

To put in a nutshell, I disagree with the banning of animal testing for medicinal products, it is a necessary evil in such cases. It seems to me that it would be wrong to ban on animals for vital medical research until equally effective alternatives have been developed.