Some people consider sport to be their career and role in society. For others it is most likely a workout to keep fit.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that sports play an incredibly important role in some people’s careers and society whereas others argue that it is simply a way for people to stay active. Personally, I hold a firm belief that people only need to play sports to stay fit.

For a variety of reasons, sports should be considered a method for people to stay healthy on a daily basis. First, a lot of sportspersons spend a great deal of time and effort training their physical and mental body as well as their skills to compete in any competition. Once they are severely injured, their career will certainly experience a great downfall. As a result, instead of exerting their time and effort in sports training, they can start their career in other aspects such as study. In addition to this, not everyone has an innate talent for playing sports. For them, sports are simply a popular pastime and a useful method to burn calories

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, sports are crucial for some people who desire to have a fruitful career. As numerous athletes work hard to achieve significant awards through their performances in the tournaments, these people will then gain more popularity, which can help them make a fortune through sports coaching afterward. Another perspective is that famous sports athletes are often admired and followed by people from various age ranges. Hence, they bring a great impact on society as they can encourage youngsters to exercise and avoid keeping their bad habits, such as smoking or consuming fast food, which contains high calories.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that people should play sports on a regular basis to keep fit instead of focusing on sports careers.