Some people feel that education should be provided exclusively by the state and private education should be prohibited. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is crucial for the overall development of humanity. In most countries, both private and public institutions provide education. Some people believe that the government should be the only provider of education in a country. I completely disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss the importance of having both private and government educational institutes.

When educational institutions are run by the government, every student will be able to access them. That is because government institutions provide education for free or at concessional rates. In India, for example, the government runs schools and colleges all over the country. Students who are below the poverty line can study at these institutions without paying any fee. The fee charged from other students is also nominal compared to the fee charged by private institutions. Obviously, there are several benefits when governments run educational institutes.

However, the government cannot be the exclusive provider of education. The government has numerous other responsibilities as well. Also, there is a limit to the amount of money the government can invest in education. That is why it is important to allow private companies also to provide education. Of course, these institutions are unlikely to provide free education. However, they still provide quality education and students who can afford to pay the fee can enroll in these institutions. In a way, these institutions also take some load off government institutions. If everyone had to go to government schools, it would reduce the quality of education because of the inadequacy of resources. Also, when private schools operate in a country, the competition among them will indirectly improve the quality of education.

In conclusion, private education is not free but it is important to allow private companies to run educational institutes because the government alone cannot provide education to all the students in the country. Also, the presence of private educational institutes in the country will increase the quality of education because of the competition between them.