Some people feel that government should regulate the level of violence in films on television and at the cinemas. Others feel that violent films should not be regulated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The control over brutal actions in movies has long been a severe discussion mong viewers. While some people support the government’s interference with violent factors in films, others believe that these elements should not be controlled. In my opinion, I mainly agree with supporters although the protesters might be right in some circumstances.

There are serveral reasons behind the belief of those who appreciate violence in movies. Firstly, vicious behaviours are required in some film genres so that its core values and could be fulfilled. For instance, horror movies necessitate scary jumpscares to make their viewers feel threatened and the movie “Thien linh cai” is a telling example for this. Before publishcation, Vietnamese offices cut aggressive scenes to make the film less scary, however, these changes took out important events of the story and make an award-winning film become trivial. Secondly, to artists and filmmakers, the state interference with their works could limit their creativity, which would affect films’ quality. In other words, since there are rules that must be followed, any ideas, no matter how brilliant and they are, would be abandoned if they oppose regulations. Consequently, despite having numberous talented actors and directors, in countries with strict laws like China, the frequency of creative plots is much lower than that of Hollywood.

On the other hand, I believe that violent films should be regulated by the authorities for the harmony of art and social perceptions. If goverments have no control over violent films, vulnerable people like children would be badly effected by violent scenes in movies. By way of explanation, children, especially little children, tend to form their mindsets based on their common experiences. Therefore, if they are posed to brutal actions regularly, they might consider violence as a possible way of solving problems, which is true for many school bulliers in the US. Moreover, although creativity is an indispensible element in any film, filmmakers should not use it as an excuse for their ignorance of its impacts on their audiences. Even worse, some directors take advantage of violence to create a sense of horror among their audiences instead of focusing on artistic aespects. For these reasons, regulations are necessary to ensure that there is no harmful consequences but entertainment and education purposes. Also, specific laws related to the film industry would inform film workers about what and what not to do so that they could create an appropriate film from the beginning, preventing them from wasting resources.

In conclusion, although script writers and directors need some level of freedom in the creation process to produce qualified violent movies, there should be regulations to ensure that their creativity does not go further than artistic purposes.