Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is true that playing video games helps people to relax and reduce stress after a hard-working day. While this may have some good effects on users, I believe that overall, the drawbacks of computer games are more dramatic.

On the one hand, people, especially children, can enhance their mindset via video games. It is also considered to be an educational and entertaining tool that can be used as a measure of people's development. For example, League of Legends is a strategic computer game that requires five players as a team to build up ultimate plans in order to beat the opposite team through destroying the main tower. This kind of game teaches children to improve their logical thinking, decision making as well as concentration, which are useful skills for them to apply in reality.

On the other hand, abusing video games can cause some bad effects on health. When children spend too much time on gaming due to the addiction of rewards and prizes, they may pay less attention to their meals and fast foods are the most appropriate choice. This contributes to the increase of obesity which leads to heart diseases. Another harmful aspect is that mental health can result from people staring at the screen most of their times. Lack of social skills will make children deduce their EQ to connect with others and moreover, delusional minds can exist as a result of playing games uncontrollably.

In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages of playing video games outweigh the advantages.