Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give y

There are others who think that in order to greatly improve the health of the citizens is to provide an increase in the quantity of sports venues while there are some, myself included, who believe that this will only have a minimal outcome compared to other ways such as providing medical missions, seminars that increases awareness in infectious diseases, and other existing health programs.

People nowadays are becoming conscious about their health especially about their figures and because of this more and more individuals enroll themselves in gym classes, Pilates etc, under trained instructors in order to achieve their set goals of either slimming or gaining extra weight. But not all can afford to enroll on these kinds of activities and for that reason increasing the number of sports facilities open to public will immensely improve the health of the citizens. An example of these are basketball courts, tennis courts built in every community which can also be a venue for public zumba classes, a type of dance exercise. Also public treadmills in park and other equipment like those seen in Japan will have an effect on the health of the people.

However, others argue that it will only have a minimal effect to the community because other focus areas are more important compared to sports facilities. Not all are willing to use these venues due to factors such as age, gender and will to exercise in public. Creating awareness in existing programs like family planning expanded program on immunizations is considered to be more significant. Holding free seminars about infectious diseases like tuberculosis, HIV etc will prevent the public from acquiring such diseases. Providing medical missions to the citizens will also help in improving the well being of the community.

To my mind, sports facilities, have an impact to the well being of the people but it only has a minimal impact compared to other focus areas mentioned. Exercise is important but other key areas are much more significant to achieve the millennium development goals of the country.

To end, sports help tone one's body but it is just one of the factors to greatly develop the health of the community. Other programs have more significant impact to one's health.