Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that building more sports facilities is the ideal way to promote a healthy lifestyle. However, others believe that this will have a limited impact and other alternatives are far more practical. While constructing more sports buildings makes them more accessible to locals, this will put a huge strain on government’s budget. I believe that other measures, such as spreading awareness and education amongst people is a viable solution.

On the one hand, it is believed by some that building more sports centers in a certain community, relatively, means more accessibility to these places. Bringing these amenities closer to local community members will encourage them frequent these facilities more often than when they are far. For instance, the number of sport centers and stadiums in Qatar has more than doubled over the last decade and this has contributed to increasing the number of people who go in for sports regularly. However, this may not be practical recourse for many nations due to cost factor.

On the other flip, it is argued that education is the key to promote welfare and public health. When people are aware of the implications they may encounter in the long run due to being overweight, they are more likely to change their attitudes and do even simple physical exercises regularly to stay fit. Not only is it beneficial to them physically, but also psychologically because doing physical activity is recreational. For example, a study that was conducted by Yale University in Singapore showed that people’s awareness is the key behind their welfare and higher life expectancy. I agree with this approach because it is more convenient and cost effective.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that constructing more sports centers is not affordable to all nations. However, spreading education and consciousness is the ideal way to change people's behavior as it addresses the root cause of the issue.