Some people say that criminals should be sent to prison. Others insist that they should do something else as a punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sending criminals in jail is the only effective way that is one of the most controversial issues that people like debating about. Because some people insist prison is the only way of rehabilitation to criminals and others say something else like imposing a fine or community services can be in place of that. In this essay, I will address my own opinion and analyze both views with supportive examples.

Firstly, some of communist insist imprisonment could be the best way to decrease crime rates. For instance, basically, the purpose of jail terms is to make a criminal realize his or her mistakes and give them an opportunity to improve. However, some of petty criminals or habitual criminal such as pickpocketing are not intended of sever crime so that judges should be aware of a criminal's past record to make right decision on trial. Sometimes, petty criminals can be convicted by wrong judgement or heavy sentences even though the crime happened because of their background. It would not be the best resolution to deter crimes.

Secondly, there are plenty of method as a punishment not only sending prison but also community services or imposing a heavy fine. For illustrates, according to one of the Singapore university research, they said imposing a fine on offenders was an effective way to make the public abide by the rules. Also, Singapore is one of the highest fine country among OECD countries.

In my personal opinion, both tools are effective way of reducing crime rates and possibly people make not to violate the law but jail is outweighed by moral standard because vested interests can not be judged based on their property. In conclusion,I think that it is the best way that the government should focus on the prevention of crime rather than harsh prison sentences.