Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The advantages and disadvantages of economic growth have been considered one of the most concerning issues worldwide recently. Some people contend that it is the only solution for hunger and poverty; however, some argue that the development of economies should be stopped since it is destroying our environment. In my opinion, I do support the latter view because of several reasons.

On the one hand, people who agree that the progress of economic growth is solely the way to help the poor out of poverty have a primary argument. Only the development of economies in developing countries can help reduce poverty and hunger. Big companies which hire millions of workers provide them with basic needs of life; therefore, they are able to get out of starving conditions and support themselves and their families as well. However, in industrialized nations, hardly do big corporations trickle down the profit to their lowest-level employees. As a result, the gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider.

On the other hand, it is true that economic growth should be stopped due to the fact that it is severely damaging the environment. Firstly, factories cause a lot of pollution to nature. Numerous rivers and oceans are poisoned by industrial waste, which results in the death of millions of fish and marine animals. Moreover, deforestation destroys a large area of tropical rainforest. Consequently, there are more and more natural disasters like soil erosion, storm, flooding that human beings have to suffer. Secondly, natural resources are coming to an end since fossil fuels, which providing energy for industrialization, are being used continuously. Therefore, global warming, climate change and the rise of sea levels are undeniable consequences, which cause thousands of people homeless in coastal areas.

From all the above-mentioned, economic growth is one of the solutions for tackling poverty issues; however, it should be seriously restricted due to its detrimental effects on the environment. People should develop and apply reusable resources widely to provide enough energy for both domestic and industrial purposes without damaging nature.