Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and

poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it

must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for the poor to live in a country which has a thriving economy. Firstly, the more companies establish, the more opportunities for jobs would appear. Therefore, it is probably easy for poor people to find a job to meet their basic needs. Secondly, the government can support the starving and needy by supplemental income or constructing charitable accommodations.

On the other hand, the increase of economy that is not unsustainable may have a negative impact on the environment. For example, deforestation and over-exploiting natural resources in order to make profits without being based on meeting human needs would lead to biodiversity reduction, or even more severe natural disasters. In addition, using fossil fuels, which provide energy for growing industrialization, is causing global warming.

In conclusion, while the economic growth plays an important role in bringing a better life, it seems to me that the environmental issues should also be taken into account to avoid resulting in serious consequences.