Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is some dispute whether development of economy is helping people who are hungry and poor or is destroying the natural environment. Both viewpoints have their own advantages and disadvantages which will be elaborated below.

On the one hand, it is obvious that economic development is making great contribution to society by creating more jobs, launching social campaigns or donating money to the less advantaged individuals. Given the constant expansion of different economic sectors, demand for labor capital increases accordingly. This means that people may find it easier to land a job, by which, these people are able to make their living and trip off poverty. An additional merit of developing economy is that the rich, who are beneficial from flourishment of economy, after achieving their financial indepence would plough back their money in order to help imporverished individuals through either social programmes or sponsoring money for the poor people. By doing so, the rich not only shows their social responsibility but also benefits their community. Finally, if economic development is maintained for a long period, there will be more taxes contributing to national fund, which in turn can be used to invest in provision of capital or materials for the disadvantaged in order to striping off poverty, thereby living better off. Therefore, it is beneficial for all social members when their nation succeeds financially.

On the other hand, posperity of an economy exerts a burden on the ecosystem.

First, overexploitation of natural resources to feed the upsurge in demand of an increasing number of rich people could place the enviroment at risk. The manufacture process of the elements narrow habitat of flora and fauna, which are essential to keep the balance of the biodiversity. In addition, industrialization is the main culprit of pollution to natural world. First, the movement leaves enormous amount of carbon footbprint such as waste, emission which are dangerous to the nature. If the by-products are not managed well, they can cause detrimental impacts on land, water bodies and air. Thus, affects on natural world could be attributed directly to the increase in economic activities of human.

In sum, even though effects on the environment is unavoidable, the benefits of developed economy are enormous for those who are less well-off. I agree with the view that prosperity brings more goods than harms to our world.